top of page
Photo_1570988793637.png

Cityscape and architecture

The cityscape is made up of buildings from different stylistic epochs from the  Victorian architecture  to  Modern shaped. Outside the city center, cotton factories have been preserved and are now used as apartments or offices. The frequent use of red is characteristic of Manchester  Brick  as  Building material . Buildings worth seeing are the Gothic cathedral of Manchester (built in 1421 in  Perpendicular style ; Tower rebuilt in 1876), the  Grain Exchange  (Corn Exchange, built in 1897, now the mall  The Triangle) and the neo-Gothic  Manchester Town Hall built in 1868 by  Alfred Waterhouse  was designed. The reception building of the train station, built in 1839, was built in 1830  Liverpool Road is the oldest surviving in the world.

Since the 1960s, several large skyscrapers have been built in the city, creating a new city silhouette. The tallest building is the one built in 2006  Beetham Tower , which houses a hotel, restaurants and apartments.

There are 135 spaces, parks and gardens in Manchester. The most important park is that  Heaton Park  in the north of the city center. With an area of 250 hectares, the green area is one of the largest public parks in Europe. In the two big places  St.  Peter's Square and  Albert Square  In the city center there are numerous monuments in memory of famous people and kings.

The earlier one, built in 1942  Wythenshawe Bus Depot  is now a listed building.

Music and theater

Manchester owns two  Symphony orchestra , that  Hallé Orchestra  and the  BBC Philharmonic . The city is with that  Royal Northern College of Music  and the free music school  Chetham's School of Music  a center for musical education in the north of England. The main venues for symphonic music are the  Free Trade Hall  and the  Bridgewater Hall, a building opened in 1996 dedicated to the Earl of Bridgewater.

in the  Manchester Opera House  and  Palace Theater  will  Operas ,  Ballet ,  Concerts ,  cabaret  and  Musicals  listed. These are other important theaters  Royal Exchange Theater,  Library Theater  and the  Lowry Center.

Manchester is the home and founding place of many well-known musical groups and singers, including  Oasis ,  Herman's Hermits ,  The Hollies ,  New Order ,  The Smiths ,  James ,  I.  At the toilet ,  Elbow ,  Simply Red ,  Inspiral Carpets ,  Stone Roses ,  Happy Mondays  and  Take that . At the time of  punk  and  New wave  became  The Fall ,  Joy Division ,  Buzzcocks ,  Magazines  and  808  State  known from Manchester. It was here in the late 1980s  The Future Sound of London  founded. With  Factory Records was home to one of Manchester's most influential  Independent labels . Due to its lively music scene, the city was given the nickname " Madchester ". In the 1980s and 1990s in particular, the city became a center of subculture. The discotheque " The Haçienda " became known nationwide in this context. The film “ 24  Hour Party People “(2002) by  Michael Winterbottom covers the stories of the popular club.

The largest event hall is the  Manchester Evening News Arena  (MEN-Arena) with 21,000 seats, where pop music concerts and events take place regularly. These are other important venues  Manchester Apollo  and the  Manchester Academy .

Museums and galleries

That  Museum of Science and Industry deals with Manchester's industrial past and exhibits a collection of  Locomotives , industrial machines and airplanes. in the  Museum of Transport  become historical  buses  and  Tram vehicles shown. That opened in 1880  Manchester Museum is home to a natural history and Egyptological collection. That from  Daniel Libeskind  designed  Imperial War Museum North  shows a military history collection and is connected to the city center by a pedestrian bridge.

Important art museums are those  Manchester Art Gallery  with a collection of European and in particular  Pre-Raphaelite painting  and the  Whitworth Art Gallery  with an emphasis on modern art. These are other museums  Cornerhouse  (a cultural center with exhibition rooms, cinemas for independent films and a café in a former department store), the cultural and exhibition center  Urbis that  Manchester Costume Gallery at Platt Fields Park, the  People's History Museum, the football museum in the  Old Trafford Stadium and the Jewish Museum. The painter  LS  Lowry  is this  Lowry Center  dedicated to one of  Michael Wilford built a cultural center with theaters and art galleries.

 

shop

 

Shopping around Piccadilly Gardens

The biggest shopping streets are the  Market Street that  King Street  and  Deansgate. The Chinese Quarter, the second largest  Chinatown  Great Britain, is to the east of the city center with Asian shops and restaurants. On Wilmslow Road in the Rusholme district lies the Indian Quarter that is nicknamed  Curry Mile  wearing. A special feature are the numerous colorful neon signs with which the catering and retail sectors advertise. [5]

Around the  Canal Street  lies  Gay Village, that  Lesbian and gay quarters  the city. [6] It has been a meeting place for the scene since the 1940s at the latest, and the path to more openness began in the early 1980s. [7] Today the quarter is one of the largest gay and lesbian cultural centers in Europe, with more than 40 bars,  Pubs , clubs and shops, and will mostly be right after  Soho  called in London. The British television series broadcast from 1999 to 2000 is also very well known  Queer as Folk  contributed, especially among the heterosexual audience. [8th]  At the end of August, the  Manchester Pride  instead, in 2003 the  Europride  celebrated. In the immediate vicinity in Sackville Park it says  Alan Turing  Memorial.

bottom of page

© 2019 by Red​ Devils United Family                                Statuten   Kontakt                                                            

Stadtbild und Architektur

Das Stadtbild wird von Gebäuden aus unterschiedlichen Stilepochen von der Viktorianischen Architektur bis zur Modernegeprägt. Außerhalb des Stadtzentrums sind Fabriken der Baumwollindustrie erhalten geblieben, die heute als Wohnungen oder Büros genutzt werden. Charakteristisch für Manchester ist die häufige Verwendung von rotem Backstein als Baustoff. Sehenswerte Gebäude sind die gotische Kathedrale von Manchester (erbaut 1421 im Perpendikular-Stil; Turm 1876 wiederaufgebaut), die Getreidebörse (Corn Exchange, erbaut 1897, heute das Einkaufszentrum The Triangle) und das neugotische Rathaus von Manchester, das 1868 von Alfred Waterhouse entworfen wurde. Das 1830 erbaute Empfangsgebäude des 1839 erbauten Bahnhofs Liverpool Roadist das älteste erhaltene der Welt.

Seit den 1960er Jahren entstanden in der Stadt mehrere große Hochhäuser, die eine neue Stadtsilhouette entstehen ließen. Das höchste Gebäude ist der 2006 gebaute Beetham Tower, der ein Hotel, Restaurants und Wohnungen beherbergt.

In Manchester gibt es 135 Plätze, Park- und Gartenanlagen. Wichtigste Parkanlage ist der Heaton Park im Norden der Innenstadt. Die Grünanlage ist mit 250 Hektar Fläche eine der größten öffentlichen Parkanlagen Europas. Auf den zwei großen Plätzen St Peter’s Squareund Albert Square im Stadtzentrum stehen zahlreiche Denkmale im Gedenken an berühmte Personen und Könige.

Das 1942 erbaute frühere Wythenshawe Bus Depot steht heute unter Denkmalschutz.

Musik und Theater

Manchester besitzt zwei Sinfonieorchester, das Hallé Orchestra und das BBC Philharmonic. Die Stadt ist mit dem Royal Northern College of Music und der freien Musikschule Chetham’s School of Music ein Zentrum der musikalischen Lehre in Nordengland. Die Hauptspielorte für sinfonische Musik sind die Free Trade Hall und die Bridgewater Hall, ein 1996 eröffnetes Gebäude, das dem Grafen von Bridgewater gewidmet ist.

Im Manchester Opera House und Palace Theatre werden OpernBallettKonzerteKabarett und Musicals aufgeführt. Weitere wichtige Theaterhäuser sind das Royal Exchange Theatre, Library Theatre und das Lowry Centre.

Manchester ist die Heimat und Gründungsort vieler bekannter Musikgruppen und Sänger, darunter OasisHerman’s HermitsThe HolliesNew OrderThe SmithsJamesI Am KlootElbowSimply RedInspiral CarpetsStone RosesHappy Mondays und Take That. Zur Zeit des Punk und New Wave wurden The FallJoy DivisionBuzzcocksMagazine und 808 State aus Manchester bekannt. Ende der 1980er Jahre wurde hier The Future Sound of London gegründet. Mit Factory Recordsbeheimatete Manchester eines der einflussreichsten Independent-Labels. Durch seine lebendige Musikszene bekam die Stadt den Spitznamen „Madchester“ verliehen. Insbesondere in den 1980ern und den 1990ern wurde die Stadt zu einem Zentrum der Subkultur. Die Diskothek „The Haçienda“ wurde in diesem Zusammenhang überregional bekannt. Der Film „24 Hour Party People“ (2002) von Michael Winterbottombehandelt die Geschichten um den populären Club.

Größte Veranstaltungshalle ist die Manchester Evening News Arena (MEN-Arena) mit 21.000 Sitzplätzen, in der regelmäßig Popmusikkonzerte und Events stattfinden. Weitere wichtige Veranstaltungsorte sind das Manchester Apollo und die Manchester Academy.

Museen und Galerien

Das Museum of Science and Industrybeschäftigt sich mit der industriellen Vergangenheit Manchesters und zeigt eine Sammlung von Lokomotiven, Industriemaschinen und Flugzeugen. Im Museum of Transport werden historische Busse und Straßenbahn-Fahrzeuge gezeigt. Das 1880 eröffnete Manchester Museumbeheimatet eine naturhistorische und ägyptologische Sammlung. Das von Daniel Libeskind entworfene Imperial War Museum North zeigt eine militärhistorische Sammlung und ist mit einer Fußgängerbrücke mit dem Stadtzentrum verbunden.

Wichtige Kunstmuseen sind die Manchester Art Gallery mit einer Sammlung von europäischer und insbesondere Präraffaelitischer Malerei und die Whitworth Art Gallery mit dem Schwerpunkt auf moderner Kunst. Weitere Museen sind das Cornerhouse (ein Kulturzentrum mit Ausstellungsräumen, Kinosäle für Independent-Filme und einem Café in einem ehemaligen Kaufhaus), das Kultur- und Ausstellungszentrum Urbis, die Manchester Costume Gallery at Platt Fields Park, das People’s History Museum, das Fußballmuseum im Old-Trafford-Stadium und das Jüdische Museum. Dem Maler L.S. Lowry ist das Lowry Centre gewidmet, ein von Michael Wilforderrichtetes Kulturzentrum mit Theatern und Kunstgalerien.

 

Einkaufen

 

Shopping rund um Piccadilly Gardens

Die größten Einkaufsstraßen sind die Market Street, die King Street und Deansgate. Das chinesische Viertel, die zweitgrößte Chinatown Großbritanniens, liegt im Osten der Innenstadt mit asiatischen Geschäften und Restaurants. In der Wilmslow Road im Stadtteil Rusholme liegt das indische Viertel, das den Spitznamen Curry Mile trägt. Eine Besonderheit sind die zahlreichen bunten Leuchtreklamen, mit denen die Gastronomie und der Einzelhandel wirbt.[5]

Rund um die Canal Street liegt Gay Village, das Lesben- und Schwulenviertel der Stadt.[6]Spätestens seit den 1940er Jahren ist es ein Treffpunkt der Szene, in den frühen 1980er Jahren begann der Weg zu mehr Offenheit.[7]Heute ist das Viertel eines der größten schwulen und lesbischen kulturellen Zentren Europas, mit mehr als 40 Bars, Pubs, Clubs und Geschäften, und wird meist gleich nach Soho in London genannt. Zu großer Bekanntheit hat auch die von 1999 bis 2000 ausgestrahlte britische Fernsehserie Queer as Folk beigetragen, vor allem beim heterosexuellen Publikum.[8] Ende August findet jährlich der Manchester Pride statt, im Jahr 2003 wurde hier der Europride gefeiert. In unmittelbarer Nähe steht im Sackville Park das Alan Turing Memorial.