top of page
Photo_1570988793637.png
Legends-Profile_Jack-Rowley1523522557093
B7LJ-nGIMAAqLyt.jpg

John Frederick "Jack" Rowley  (*  October 7th  1918  in  Wolverhampton ; †  June 28th  1998  in  Shaw and Crompton ) was a  English  Soccer player  and soccer coach. The national player Rowley, known as a striker, was with  Manchester United  1948 cup winners and 1952 champions. The station stands out in particular from his coaching career  Ajax Amsterdam  where he acted in the 1963/64 season.

Rowley joined in 1937 after brief stints  Wolverhampton Wanderers  and  Bournemouth and Boscombe Athletic FC  In 1937 for £ 3,000 to the second division side  Manchester United , where he soon gained the nickname thanks to his scoring risk  The Gunner, the gunner. earned.

Rowley made his first appearance for United in October 1937 against  Sheffield Wednesday . At the end of the season United rose as second in the table for the first time since 1931 back in the first division. During the war he served at  South Staffordshire Regiment  and was at the  D-Day landing  involved in Normandy. During the war he was also a guest player at Wolverhampton Wanderers, Aldershot,  Belfast Distillery , Folkestone, Shrewsbury Town and  Tottenham Hotspur .

After the breakout of peace he was back at Manchester United and won there under coach  Matt Busby  the  FA Cup 1947/48 , where he beat in a 4-2 final win  Blackpool FC  scored two hits, and in 1952 the English championship. He stayed in Manchester through January 1955. For United he scored a total of 211 goals in 424 games, of which 173 goals in 355 top division games. In 1952/53 he was third on the list of goalscorers with 30 goals, behind the Chilean  Jorge "George" Robledo  and  Ronnie Allen  with 33 or 32 hits.

bottom of page

John Frederick „Jack“ Rowley (* 7. Oktober 1918 in Wolverhampton; † 28. Juni 1998 in Shaw and Crompton) war ein englischer Fußballspieler und Fußballtrainer. Der als Torjäger bekannte Nationalspieler Rowley wurde mit Manchester United 1948 Pokalsieger und 1952 Meister. Aus seiner Trainerlaufbahn sticht vor allem die Station bei Ajax Amsterdam hervor, wo er in der Saison 1963/64 agierte, hervor.

Rowley kam 1937 nach kurzen Stationen bei Wolverhampton Wanderers und Bournemouth and Boscombe Athletic FC 1937 für £ 3.000 zum Zweitligisten Manchester United, wo er sich dank seiner Torgefährlichkeit alsbald den Beinamen The Gunner, der Kanonier. erwirtschaftete.

Seinen ersten Einsatz für United machte Rowley im Oktober 1937 gegen Sheffield Wednesday. Am Saisonende stieg United als Tebellenzweiter erstmals nach 1931 wieder in die erste Liga auf. Während des Krieges diente er beim South Staffordshire Regiment und war an der D-Day-Landung in der Normandie beteiligt. Während des Krieges war er zudem Gastspieler bei Wolverhampton Wanderers, Aldershot, Belfast Distillery, Folkestone, Shrewsbury Town and Tottenham Hotspur.

Nach dem Friedensausbruch war er wieder bei Manchester United und gewann dort unter Trainer Matt Busby den FA Cup 1947/48, wo er beim 4:2 Finalsieg gegen Blackpool FC zwei Treffer erzielte, und 1952 die englische Meisterschaft. Er blieb bis einschließlich Januar 1955 in Manchester. Für United erzielte er insgesamt 211 Tore in 424 Partien, davon 173 Tore in 355 Erstligaspielen. 1952/53 wurde er mit 30 Toren Dritter der Torschützenliste, hinter dem Chilenen Jorge "George" Robledo und Ronnie Allen mit 33 bzw. 32 Treffern.

© 2019 by Red​ Devils United Family                                Statuten   Kontakt