top of page
Photo_1570988793637.png

Dwight Eversley Yorke  (*  November 3rd  1971  in  Canaan ) is a former  Soccer player  the end  Trinidad and Tobago . The 72-time national player became known as faster and more tricky  striker  from  Aston Villa , the top club in the late 1990s  Manchester United  changed and there after his  League Cup Success  1996 with “Villa” - next to three  English championships  ( 199920002001 ) and one  FA Cup trophy (1999) - im  1999 the Champions League  won. After further stations in  Blackburn  (2002-2004),  Birmingham  (2004-2005) and  Sydney  (2005–2006) left the “left foot” last, somewhat withdrawn in  midfield  acting, his active career until the summer of 2009 with  Sunderland AFC  to end. Due to his habit of smiling steadily during a game, he was called "The Smiling Assassin" because of his scoring danger.

NINTCHDBPICT000143604124-e1534758753837.

The great preservation of expectations that former United striker stars also like  Denis Law  and  George Best  propagated - Best even described it as better compared to the one who had recently migrated  Eric Cantona  -, said Yorke straight away. In the second game he shot against  Charlton Athletic  the first of a total of 18 league goals. With this yield he was together with in the end  Michael Owen  and  Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink  even the best Premier League scorer of the 1998/99 season and with nine goals in six consecutive games, some in impressive form. in the  Champions League semi-final against  Juventus Turin  he was also one of the scorers; he was also in the final eleven, the  FC Bayern Munich  defeated 2-1. With the additional double success in the  English championship  and in  FA Cup  the "triple" was the most successful year in Yorke's active career. When choosing to  England's Footballer of the Year  he failed in the journalist or player selection only just because of the French  David Ginola , for this he was granted a place in the " Allstar Team " of the Premier League. [5]  In the following two years Yorke won two more English championships, where he was at the side of his strike partner in the 1999/2000 season  Andrew Cole  and or  Teddy Sheringham  surpassed the previous year's marks with 20 league goals and 29 competitive game goals in total. [6]

Only when Sheringham was in better shape in the 2000/01 season and so was the Norwegian  Ole Gunnar Solskjaer  As the pressure increased, Yorke found himself on the bench more often, which in turn sparked rumors of an upcoming high-pay transfer. [7]  The signs increased when Yorke was rarely used in the 2001/02 season, with coach  Alex Ferguson  in addition to the numerous alternatives available to him on the attack positions -  Ruud van Nistelrooy  was added - allegedly also Yorke's relationship with the British model  Katie Price  and the media hype it caused was a thorn in the side. Yorke shot against in November 2001  Leicester City  his only goal of the season and after failed talks with the  Middlesbrough FC  in January 2002 he moved to the in the summer of the same year for a transfer fee of two million pounds  Blackburn Rovers .

0016B1EE00000258-3388448-image-a-22_1452
bottom of page

Dwight Eversley Yorke (* 3. November 1971 in Canaan) ist ein ehemaliger Fußballspieler aus Trinidad und Tobago. Bekannt wurde der 72-fache Nationalspieler als antrittsschneller und trickreicher Stürmer von Aston Villa, der Ende der 1990er-Jahre zum Spitzenklub Manchester United wechselte und dort nach seinem Ligapokalerfolg 1996 mit „Villa“ – neben drei englischen Meisterschaften (199920002001) und einer FA-Cup-Trophäe (1999) – im Jahr 1999 die Champions League gewann. Nach weiteren Stationen in Blackburn (2002–2004), Birmingham (2004–2005) und Sydney (2005–2006) ließ der „Linksfuß“ zuletzt, etwas zurückgezogen im Mittelfeld agierend, seine aktive Laufbahn bis zum Sommer 2009 beim AFC Sunderland ausklingen. Aufgrund seiner Angewohnheit, während eines Spiels stetig zu lächeln, wurde er wegen seiner Torgefährlichkeit „The Smiling Assassin“ (deutsch: „der lächelnde Attentäter“) genannt.

Die großen Erwartungserhaltungen, die auch frühere United-Stürmerstars wie Denis Law und George Best propagierten – Best bezeichnete ihn gar als besser im Vergleich zum kurz zuvor abgewanderten Éric Cantona –, erfüllte Yorke auf Anhieb. Bereits im zweiten Spiel schoss er gegen Charlton Athletic den ersten von insgesamt 18 Ligatreffern. Mit dieser Ausbeute war er am Ende gemeinsam mit Michael Owen und Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink sogar bester Premier-League-Torjäger der Saison 1998/99 und mit neun Toren in sechs aufeinander folgenden Partien teils in bestechender Form. Im Champions-League-Halbfinale gegen Juventus Turin zählte er ebenso zu den Torschützen; dazu stand er in der Finalelf, die den FC Bayern München mit 2:1 besiegte. Mit dem zusätzlichen Doppelerfolg in der englischen Meisterschaft und im FA Cup war das „Triple“ das erfolgreichste Jahr in Yorkes aktiver Karriere. Bei der Wahl zu Englands Fußballer des Jahres scheiterte er bei Journalisten- bzw. Spielerwahl jeweils nur knapp an dem Franzosen David Ginola, dafür war ihm ein Platz im „Allstar Team“ der Premier League vergönnt.[5] In den folgenden beiden Jahren errang Yorke zwei weitere englische Meisterschaften, wobei er in der Saison 1999/2000 an der Seite seiner Sturmpartner Andrew Cole und/oder Teddy Sheringham die Vorjahresmarken mit 20 Ligatreffern und 29 Pflichtspieltoren insgesamt noch einmal übertraf.[6]

Erst als sich Sheringham in der Spielzeit 2000/01 in immer besserer Form zeigte und auch der Norweger Ole Gunnar Solskjær den Druck erhöhte, fand sich Yorke häufiger auf der Ersatzbank wieder, wodurch wiederum Gerüchte über einen bevorstehenden hochdotierten Transfer entstanden.[7] Die Anzeichen mehrten sich, als Yorke in der Saison 2001/02 nur noch selten zum Einsatz kam, wobei Trainer Alex Ferguson neben den ihm zahlreich zur Verfügung stehenden Alternativen auf den Angriffspositionen – Ruud van Nistelrooy war hinzugekommen – angeblich auch Yorkes Beziehung zum britischen Fotomodell Katie Price und den dadurch verursachten Medienrummel ein Dorn im Auge war. Yorke schoss im November 2001 gegen Leicester City sein einziges Saisontor und nach gescheiterten Gesprächen mit dem FC Middlesbrough im Januar 2002 wechselte er im Sommer desselben Jahres für eine Ablösesumme von zwei Millionen Pfund zu den Blackburn Rovers.

© 2019 by Red​ Devils United Family                                Statuten   Kontakt