top of page
Photo_1570988793637.png
download.jpeg-15.jpg

William McKay (August 24, 1906 - June 1977) was a Scottish footballer who played for Bolton Wanderers and Manchester United in the 1930s. He also played for East Stirlingshire, Hamilton Academicals and Stalybridge Celtic. He helped Manchester United 1935-36 (as champions) and 1937-38 to rise from the second division.

McKay joined Manchester United in March 1934. He helped United prevent relegation from the second division at the end of the 1933-34 season and rose to fifth place in 1934-35. He was part of the successful promotion campaign of 1935-36 when United won the Second Division title. The following season, however, they were directly transferred back to the second division, but McKays four goals in four games at the end of the 1937-38 season helped the club to retreat to second place and thus regain first division status. The "Red Devils" ended the 1938-39 season in 14th place.

McKay's career was interrupted by World War II and ended the football league in the first half of the 1940s, despite being featured in the Manchester United war games. During the war he also made guest appearances for Stockport County and Port Vale, where he played at the Old Recreation Ground in Port Vale's 4-2 loss to rivals Stoke City.

4012103395_6b1c21b4b6_z.jpg
bottom of page

William McKay (24. August 1906 - Juni 1977) war ein schottischer Fussballer, der in den 1930er Jahren für die Bolton Wanderers und Manchester United spielte. Er spielte auch für East Stirlingshire, Hamilton Academicals und Stalybridge Celtic. Er verhalf Manchester United 1935-36 (als Meister) und 1937-38 zum Aufstieg aus der zweiten Liga.

McKay kam im März 1934 zu Manchester United. Er half United, den Abstieg aus der Zweiten Liga am Ende der Saison 1933-34 zu verhindern und 1934-35 auf den fünften Platz aufzusteigen. Er war Teil der erfolgreichen Aufstiegskampagne von 1935-36, als United den Titel der Zweiten Division gewann. In der folgenden Saison wurde man jedoch direkt wieder in die zweite Liga zurückversetzt, doch McKays vier Tore in vier Spielen am Ende der Saison 1937-38 verhalfen dem Klub zum Rückzug auf den zweiten Platz und damit zur Wiedererlangung des Status der ersten Liga. Die "Roten Teufel" beendeten die Saison 1938-39 dann auf Platz 14.

Die Karriere von McKay wurde durch den Zweiten Weltkrieg unterbrochen und beendete die Fussballliga in der ersten Hälfte der 1940er Jahre, obwohl er in den Kriegsspielen von Manchester United zum Einsatz kam. Während des Krieges gastierte er auch für Stockport County und Port Vale, wo er bei der 2:4-Niederlage von Port Vale gegen den Rivalen Stoke City auf dem Old Recreation Ground spielte.

© 2019 by Red​ Devils United Family                                Statuten   Kontakt